DUI Penalties in Nevada
Protect Your Freedom & Future with Proven Reno DUI Lawyers
Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, drugs, marijuana, or any combination thereof is a criminal offense in Nevada that imposes serious penalties and consequences upon conviction. From threats to your freedom to repercussions that can impact your employment, finances, and future, DUI penalties are nothing to take lightly – whether you’re facing charges for a first offense, multiple DUI, or felony DUI.
At Joey Gilbert Law, our Reno DUI attorneys know the consequences of DUI allegations can drastically affect our clients’ futures, which is why we work to leverage decades of combined criminal defense experience when protecting our clients against the charges and penalties they face. If you or someone you love has been charged with any DUI offense in Reno or the surrounding areas of Nevada, we’re available 24/7 to help you through the legal process ahead.
Discuss your DUI allegations and rights during a FREE and confidential consultation. Call (775) 574-4774 to speak with a member of the Joey Gilbert Law team.
Penalties for DUI in Nevada
The penalties you face for a DUI charge in Nevada can vary depending on the individual facts and circumstances of your arrest, as well as whether your case involves any aggravating factors or additional charges, such as:
- Previous DUI convictions
- High BAC levels
- Accidents, property damage, injuries, or death
- Open containers
- Drug crimes (including possession)
- DUI with a child passenger
- Driving on a suspended license
Aside from these factors, there are some general guidelines when it comes to DUI penalties. Below, we discuss those penalties based on the type of DUI charge prosecutors choose to bring:
First Offense – A first-time DUI is typically a misdemeanor allegation (provided that no accident occurred). Per Nevada law, penalties can include:
- Between 48 hours and 6 months imprisonment, or up to 96 hours of community service
- Court-ordered DUI education program (paid for at your own expense)
- Fines and court fees (up to or exceeding $1,000)
- Attendance at a Nevada Victim Impact Panel
- Alcohol / drug dependency evaluation, treatment program, and / or ignition interlock device (IID) in certain cases (i.e. BAC over .18) and paid for at your own expense
- Driver’s license suspension and civil penalty fees
Second Offense – If you are charged with DUI after previously being convicted of a DUI offense within the past 7 years, you face elevated penalties, including:
- Between 10 days to 6 months imprisonment
- Fines up to $1,000, court fees, or community service
- Attendance at a Victim Impact Panel and mandatory DUI education program
- 1-year driver’s license suspension and civil penalty fees
- Court-ordered alcohol / drug treatment program
- Court-ordered ignition interlock device (IID) between up to 36 months, paid for at your own expense
Third Offense (Felony DUI) – A third or subsequent DUI within 7 years is a category B felony under Nevada law, which poses substantially enhanced penalties:
- A minimum 1 year sentence in a Nevada state prison, and up to 6 years imprisonment
- Fines up to $6,000 and court fees
- Mandatory Victim Impact Panel and DUI education program
- IID up to 36 months
- 3-year driver’s license suspension and civil penalty fees
- Alcohol and drug dependency evaluation / drug treatment program
DUI Causing Injuries or Death – If you are charged with causing an injury or death while driving under the influence, regardless of whether this is a first offense or not, you can face felony DUI charges, as well as penalties that range from between 2 to 20 years in state prison. Additionally, individuals who cause injury or death while driving under the influence and who have three or more prior DUI convictions can be charged with vehicular homicide, the most serious DUI allegation. Vehicular homicide is punishable by a 25 to life prison sentence.
Protect Your Future with Experienced DUI Attorneys in Nevada
DUI allegations put a lot on the line, and penalties handed down by the court, the Nevada DMV, and society in general can alter your life for years to come, if not forever. To protect your rights at this critical time and seek the best possible resolution in your case, working with experienced DUI defense lawyers should be your top priority.
Our legal team at Joey Gilbert Law has defended numerous individuals charged with DUI offenses throughout the state, and we have the insight and resources to guide you through both criminal proceedings and administrative hearings regarding your driving privileges. Do not waste time in protecting yourself from the serious penalties you face – call (775) 574-4774 or contact us online for a free and confidential consultation. Our firm is available 24/7.