Tougher Nevada Drunk Driving Laws another Reason to Mount Aggressive Defense to DUI Charges in Reno, Lake Tahoe
The Nevada legislature is debating a slew of bills that would increase the penalties for those convicted of drunk driving in Reno, Lake Tahoe or elsewhere in the state, according to FOX News.
Reno DUI defense lawyers continue to see lawmakers push for stricter guidelines and additional penalties for those charged with DUI in Nevada. While the number of serious and fatal accidents involving drunk drivers has declined for years, the number of arrests for DUI has steadily increased. As a result, marginal cases continue to clog the court system and the number of unfair arrests has skyrocketed — even as the legal blood-alcohol limit has been reduced by 20 percent, from .10 to .08.
For these reasons and many others, we believe it’s critical to keep a drunk driving conviction off your record. The tiered nature of Nevada’s drunk driving law means a subsequent conviction will carry significantly greater penalties. And having a DUI on your record is a real good way to get stopped and charged by law enforcement again. A first-time DUI in Nevada is punishable by 2 days to 6 month in jail, up to 96 hours of community service, $1,175 in fines and a 90 day driver’s license suspension. A third conviction for DUI within 7 years is a felony, punishable by up to 6 years in prison and an ignition interlock device on your car for up to 36 months after your release from prison.
But this article illustrates another concern for those facing a DUI conviction: We really don’t know what future penalties will be. We only know they will be tougher than they are today as long as politicians continue to use drunk driving as a rallying cry for being tough on crime — regardless of whether the scrutiny is warranted by the facts.
Senate Bill 91 was approved earlier last year by unanimous vote. Passed into law, it will lower (from .18 to .15) the blood-alcohol level of first-time offenders who are eligible to seek treatment over jail. Another bill, Senate Bill 42, would allow police to test drivers for the presence of alcohol at the scene of fatal accidents. There were some concerns voiced over civil liberties — because it could mean all drivers are tested at the scene of a fatal crash. But civil liberties are not something that lawmakers have shown great concern for when passing strict measures in the past. And we will not count on them to protect drivers from harsher penalties and more invasive law enforcement tactics moving forward.
We believe strongly that anyone charged with DUI in Nevada or California deserves immediate access to high-quality legal representation at an affordable price. That’s why we are committed to offering first-time DUI defense starting at just $999.
If you or loved one has been arrested for driving under the influence, contact our DUI defense team at Joey Gilbert Lawfor a free confidential consultation. We can help! Live receptionist 24/ 7. Call (775) 574-4774 Se Habla Espanol.