Reno, Nevada domestic violence charges carry possibility of felony conviction
A domestic violence charge in Reno is a serious criminal charge that can result in jail time, job loss and the inability to own firearms or hold certain jobs, particularly for members of law enforcement or those in the military. These charges are frequently lodged in the midst of a contentious divorce or child-custody case and can influence your ability to see your children or even return home.
Contacting a Reno domestic violence defense lawyer is critical to protecting your rights and your reputation if you have been charged with domestic battery or domestic violence in Reno or the surrounding area.
The Nevada Attorney General’s Office recognizes domestic violence as violence involving intimate partners or family members. This may include a spouse or girlfriend, a child, a parent, a former mate, a sibling or an extended relative, such as a grandparent, aunt, uncle or cousin. Domestic violence is taken seriously by law enforcement because of the often dependent nature of the victims. Domestic violence in Nevada may take many forms, including:
Too often, the mere allegation of domestic violence is enough to harm a defendant’s reputation at work and his relationship with family and friends. Additionally, a Temporary Protective Order (TPO) may be issued without evidence and without the opportunity to defend yourself. Such an order can prevent you from returning home and may even keep you away from your children. At this stage, a vigorous defense will need to be mounted to prevent the issuance of an Extended Protection Order (EPO).
Penalties for a domestic violence conviction in Nevada:
-Two days to six months in jail
– 6 months of counseling
– Fines and Court Costs
– Probation and Community Service
– Protective Order
A second conviction will result in at least 10 days in jail. Under Nevada law, a third conviction for domestic battery or domestic violence is a felony and carries a mandatory one-year prison sentence.
Having a felony conviction on your record can lead to all sorts of consequences, including the inability to hold certain jobs or even rent an apartment or travel out of the country. For instance, Canada does not permit those with a felony record to visit that country.
A domestic violence charge in California may also be either a misdemeanor or felony. In that state, the decision is left up to the prosecutor. Misdemeanor domestic violence in California will result in a sentence of up to 6 months in jail, a year of counseling and 40 hours of community service. A felony conviction will result in 90 days to three years in prison, a year of counseling and 40 hours of community service. Either conviction will result in hefty fines, court costs and a no contact order with the victim.
Have you been charged with domestic violence or are in need of legal support against a violent family member? Contact us today for a free consultation and case evaluation. We are available 24/7 at (775) 574-4774 . Se Habla Español.