Arrested for DUI
After being charged with drunk driving (DUI, DWI), you have a very limited time to contact the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and set up an administrative hearing. This will delay your license suspension until the hearing date. The DMV hearing and suspension are completely separate from any punishment the court may later impose for drunk driving.
When you are arrested for DUI in Nevada, the officer will generally give you a temporary license that is valid for 7 days. After the 7 day period your license will be suspended for 90 days.
Please note that in Nevada you only have 7 days to request a DMV hearing. If successful, a favorable DMV hearing could result in you being granted a temporary license.
In Nevada, individuals charged with drunk driving (DUI, DWI) are generally charged with violating NRS 484C.110.
Under NRS 484C.110, it is unlawful for any person to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle;
1) while under the influence of intoxicating liquor,
2) with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08 or greater in their blood or on their breath;
3) to be found with 0.08 BAC or greater within 2 hours of driving.
It is also a violation of NRS 484C.110 to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of a controlled substance (illegal or prescription drugs).
Upon getting arrested for drunk driving (DUI, DWI) in California, the police officer is required, by law, to immediately forward a copy of the completed notice of suspension or revocation form and any driver license taken into their possession, with a sworn report to the DMV. You will be given a temporary license that is valid for 30 days from the time of your DUI arrest.
Please be advised that immediate action is necessary in order to prevent the suspension of your driving privilege. You must contact the DMV within ten days of your arrest and schedule an Administrative hearing; otherwise your license will be suspended for 4 months upon the expiration of the 30-day temporary license.
The DMV hearing will delay your license suspension until your hearing date with California DMV. The DMV hearing and suspension are completely separate from any punishment the court may later impose for drunk driving.
** Attention frequent travelers to Canada! A DUI Conviction will prevent you from entering Canada. Speak with the attorneys at Joey Gilbert & Associates to find out whether you can petition for criminal rehabilitation and be admitted.
Have you been arrested for DUI? Contact Joey Gilbert & Associates for a free consultation and case evaluation – 775-284-7700 or Toll Free 888-640-4313.