Underage DUI Lawyer Serving Northern Nevada
Ten percent of all licensed drivers are under the age of 21, but sadly,
they are responsible for 17 percent of all alcohol-related car crash fatalities.
This is because teenagers are typically less experienced with alcohol
and with driving, and may be more likely to exercise less caution and
take bigger risks. Because underage drinkers are responsible for a disproportionate
number of accidents involving alcohol, those under 21 who are accused
of DUI face strict penalties.
Is your child facing DUI charges?
Protect their future by contacting us today: (775) 574-4774.
What Constitutes DUI for Underage Drivers?
The legal drinking age in Nevada is 21 years old, with a few exceptions.
Regardless of these exceptions, anyone under 21 who gets behind the wheel
with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .02 or higher can receive a DUI citation.
What are the Penalties for Underage DUI?
A first drunk driving conviction for a person under the age of 21 will
first result in the convicted driver having to undergo an evaluation to
determine if they have substance abuse problems, and may require them
to complete driver’s education classes, drug/alcohol counseling,
or community service. Other penalties will then include:
- Driver’s license suspension for at least 90 days
- Imprisonment for a period of two days to six months
- Fines between $400 and $1,000
- Possible installation of an Ignition interlock device or impoundment of vehicle
For a second drunk driving conviction within seven years, drivers will
face similar license suspension penalties, and will face an increased
imprisonment sentence of 10 days to six months and a fine of $750 to $1,000.
In both cases, these penalties will also include a 3-5 year probationary
period, which will result in enhanced punishments if any other convictions
occur during this time.
Other DUI-Related Charges
There are many other charges that underage drunk drivers may also face
that go hand in hand with their DUI charges. These include:
- Minor in possession of alcohol
- Solicitation of alcohol
- Distribution of alcohol to other minors
- Child endangerment
- Possession of a fake ID
Young drivers with DUIs may be required to disclose their conviction on
things like job applications, college applications, or applications for
financial aid. Their DUI charges can leave a permanent stain on their
driving record that could come back to haunt them in the future. If your
child has been arrested of suspected DUI, don’t let this happen.
Immediately contact Joey Gilbert Law to set up a free initial consultation.
Attorney Gilbert will fight to protect your child’s future and will
do everything possible to help keep DUI charges off their record.
Contact a Reno DUI attorney today by calling Joey Gilbert Law at (775) 574-4774 – for your convenience, we are available 24/7.