Distracted driving is a leading cause of car accidents. In 2011, 20 percent
of all injury-causing car accidents involved distracted driving, according to the
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
And a driver who is using a hand-held device is four times as likely to
get into a serious-injury car accident, says the
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS
). This is all on top of numerous studies showing that drivers who use
a cell phone while driving (even those who go hands-free) have their reaction
time and judgment impaired to the same level as a driver who is legally
What is meant by ‘texting while driving?’
Laws that prohibit ‘texting, usually prohibit more than the process of sending and receiving text messages
on a cell phone. Typically, they prohibit drivers from using a cell phone,
text messaging device, personal digital assistant (PDA), computer, or
similar wireless device to write, send, or read text data while driving.
The ban usually applies to text messages, instant messages (IM), email,
and Internet data.
The Following is a list of the Nevada Laws Provided by Joey Gilbert Law:
The Nevada legislature passed a bill that would prohibit all drivers from
texting or using a hand-held cell phone while driving. The legislation,
Senate Bill (SB) 140, was subsequently signed by the governor and enacted in 2012.
Nevada law now prohibits drivers from using a cell phone or other wireless communications
device to access or search the Internet, or to type, enter, send, or read
any non-voice communication, including text messages, instant messages
(IM), or email.
Violation of the law is punishable by a fine of up to $50 for a first offense;
$100 for a second offense within seven years; and $250 for a third offense
within seven years.
Higher fines are imposed on drivers who violate the law in traffic control zones.
If you or a loved one are facing criminal charges (Including Traffic Tickets)
in Reno or Lake Tahoe areas,
Joey Gilbert Law to discuss your rights.