Are your reading this article while driving? If so.... STOP!
To all motorists who have been talking and texting on their cell phones
during the last three months. Your time legally texting, talking and driving
are nearing an end.
Beginning on January 1st 2012, the state's ban on driving and cellphone use will officially begin.
Those who are facing their first offense will be charged with a $50 and
your second offense will run you approximately $112 with court fees added
on. A first offense will not be treated as a moving violation, Nevada
Highway Patrol Trooper Chuck Allen said.
There has been a 3-months notice regarding the birth of this law and Nevadans
are expected to have gotten the message.
Since October, law enforcement have been warning drivers caught using their
phones that beginning Jan. 1 it is illegal to use a handheld cell phone
to talk, text, read email or surf the Internet. It's also prohibited
to handle cell phones at stoplights or signs, or while idling in the traffic.
The legal alternatives to using a handheld cell phone are Bluetooth devices,
wireless speaker systems, or having a phone mounted inside the vehicle.
Public safety personnel are exempt from the ban, although the Department
of Public Safety issued a policy that mandates all those driving state
vehicles adapt to hands-free devices, Allen said.
When Gov. Brian Sandoval approved the law this summer, Nevada became the
34th state to ban cellphone use while driving. The law specified that
police could only issue verbal warnings from October until Dec. 31.
So, Let the warning be known, from now on. Those who text/talk while driving
will face mandatory fines.