The Nevada legislature is debating a slew of bills that would increase
the penalties for those convicted of drunk driving in Reno, Lake Tahoe
or elsewhere in the state, according to FOX News.
Reno DUI defense lawyers continue to see lawmakers push for stricter guidelines and additional
penalties for those charged with DUI in Nevada. While the number of serious
and fatal accidents involving drunk drivers has declined for years, the
number of arrests for DUI has steadily increased. As a result, marginal
cases continue to clog the court system and the number of unfair arrests
has skyrocketed — even as the legal blood-alcohol limit has been
reduced by 20 percent, from .10 to .08.
For these reasons and many others, we believe it’s critical to keep
a drunk driving conviction off your record. The tiered nature of Nevada’s
drunk driving law means a subsequent conviction will carry significantly
greater penalties. And having a DUI on your record is a real good way
to get stopped and charged by law enforcement again. A first-time DUI
in Nevada is punishable by 2 days to 6 month in jail, up to 96 hours of
community service, $1,175 in fines and a 90 day driver’s license
suspension. A third conviction for DUI within 7 years is a felony, punishable
by up to 6 years in prison and an ignition interlock device on your car
for up to 36 months after your release from prison.
But this article illustrates another concern for those facing a DUI conviction:
We really don’t know what future penalties will be. We only know
they will be tougher than they are today as long as politicians continue
to use drunk driving as a rallying cry for being tough on crime —
regardless of whether the scrutiny is warranted by the facts.
Senate Bill 91 was approved earlier last year by unanimous vote. Passed
into law, it will lower (from .18 to .15) the blood-alcohol level of first-time
offenders who are eligible to seek treatment over jail. Another bill,
Senate Bill 42, would allow police to test drivers for the presence of
alcohol at the scene of fatal accidents. There were some concerns voiced
over civil liberties — because it could mean all drivers are tested
at the scene of a fatal crash. But civil liberties are not something that
lawmakers have shown great concern for when passing strict measures in
the past. And we will not count on them to protect drivers from harsher
penalties and more invasive law enforcement tactics moving forward.
We believe strongly that anyone charged with DUI in Nevada or California
deserves immediate access to high-quality legal representation at an affordable
price. That’s why we are committed to offering first-time DUI defense
starting at just $999.
If you or loved one has been arrested for driving under the influence,
contact our DUI defense team at Joey Gilbert Lawfor a free confidential consultation. We can help! Live receptionist 24/
7. Call (775) 574-4774 Se Habla Espanol.