A domestic violence charge in Reno is a serious criminal charge that can
result in jail time, job loss and the inability to own firearms or hold
certain jobs, particularly for members of law enforcement or those in
the military. These charges are frequently lodged in the midst of a contentious
divorce or child-custody case and can influence your ability to see your
children or even return home.
Contacting a Reno domestic violence defense lawyer is critical to protecting
your rights and your reputation if you have been charged with domestic
battery or domestic violence in Reno or the surrounding area.
The Nevada Attorney General’s Office recognizes domestic violence
as violence involving intimate partners or family members. This may include
a spouse or girlfriend, a child, a parent, a former mate, a sibling or
an extended relative, such as a grandparent, aunt, uncle or cousin. Domestic
violence is taken seriously by law enforcement because of the often dependent
nature of the victims. Domestic violence in Nevada may take many forms,
Too often, the mere allegation of domestic violence is enough to harm a
defendant’s reputation at work and his relationship with family
and friends. Additionally, a Temporary Protective Order (TPO) may be issued
without evidence and without the opportunity to defend yourself. Such
an order can prevent you from returning home and may even keep you away
from your children. At this stage, a vigorous defense will need to be
mounted to prevent the issuance of an Extended Protection Order (EPO).
Penalties for a domestic violence conviction in Nevada:
-Two days to six months in jail
– 6 months of counseling
– Fines and Court Costs
– Probation and Community Service
– Protective Order
A second conviction will result in at least 10 days in jail. Under Nevada
law, a third conviction for domestic battery or domestic violence is a
felony and carries a mandatory one-year prison sentence.
Having a felony conviction on your record can lead to all sorts of consequences,
including the inability to hold certain jobs or even rent an apartment
or travel out of the country. For instance, Canada does not permit those
with a felony record to visit that country.
A domestic violence charge in California may also be either a misdemeanor
or felony. In that state, the decision is left up to the prosecutor. Misdemeanor
domestic violence in California will result in a sentence of up to 6 months
in jail, a year of counseling and 40 hours of community service. A felony
conviction will result in 90 days to three years in prison, a year of
counseling and 40 hours of community service. Either conviction will result
in hefty fines, court costs and a no contact order with the victim.
Have you been charged with domestic violence or are in need of legal support
against a violent family member? Contact us today for a free consultation
and case evaluation. We are available 24/7 at (775) 574-4774 . Se Habla